Vacancies: We are currently seeking 3 new Trustees - 2 new Parent Trustees and a representative from the local community.

Read the profile of a Trustee here

Find information about the role of a parent Trustee here

Please apply or ask for more information by writing to

If more than 2 parents apply, an election will be arranged with other parents, a community Trustee will be voted on by the existing Board and Members. Any new Trustee will be asked to complete an application form and we will do a reference check and carry out a full DBS so that we can safeguard our children.

Meet the Trustees

Tracey Bruce

Chair of Trustees

Responsibility for EYFS and safeguarding

Chris Bailey

Elected Trustee

Responsibility for Finance

Gareth John

Elected Trustee

Responsibility for Health & Safety

Jon Hall

Elected Trustee

Finance Committee

Tom Andrew

Elected Trustee

Safeguarding Deputy

Jenny Sparkes

Staff Trustee

Laura Newbery

Parent Trustee

Sandra Billinghay

Clerk to Trustees

Parent Trustee Vacancy

Parent Trustee Vacancy

Elected Trustee Vacancy

The headteacher is also a Trustee. The Trustees meet 6 times a year with an annual AGM in December. There is also a finance committee that usually meets 3 times per year.

We also have 5 Directors of the Sparkwell All Saints Primary Trust, also known as Members. Our members are: Denis Spencer, David Cobbold, Geoff Perham and the current Chair of Trustees also serves as a member. They meet as required, usually 3 times a year, but are separate from our Trustee Board.

Click here to see the annual audit and financial report for 2018-19

Click here to see the annual audit and financial report for 2017-18

Click here to see the annual audit and financial report for 2016-17

Click here to see the annual audit and financial report for 2015-16

Follow these links for further information:

  • Governors visits policy View Download
    • Memorandum of Articles of Association (how the Trust operates) View Download
    • Terms of Reference for the Trustees View here
    • Scheme of Delegation (who can decide what) View here

The Role of the Board of Trustees:

The Board of Trustees is responsible for the conduct of its school, and must promote high standards of educational achievement at the school. It is the school’s accountable body and as such:

    • provides a strategic view of the school by establishing a vision and setting the purpose and aims of the school within an agreed policy framework. It appoints and performance manages the headteacher, agreeing the school improvement strategy which includes setting statutory targets with supporting budgets and staffing structures;
    • monitors and evaluates the work of the school by reviewing the performance of the headteacher, the effectiveness of the policy framework, progress towards targets, and the effectiveness of the school improvement strategy including overseeing the spending of the annual budget;
    • ratifies the self evaluation process and responds to school improvement service and Ofsted reports as necessary. In addition it holds the headteacher to account for the performance of the school and ensures that parents are involved, consulted and informed as appropriate, with information to the community being made available as required.

In order to do this, governors need to gain knowledge of how the school operates through training, by attending meetings, and by getting to know their school community, for example through a small number of visits to the school during the school day.

If you would like to contact the Trustees directly, please email the main email address below and mark it FAO Chair of Trustees. You can request a copy of minutes from the school office.

As is required by the DfE, below is a summary of information on those who held a governor role during 2019-20:

Some Trustees attend additional finance committee meetings, therefore the total possible number of meetings may vary. In April we were able to continue meeting via Zoom and held an additional meeting (however some Trustees had technical or other reasons making attendance difficult).

All terms of office are 4 years.